Schools and other education settings recognised for their excellence

Schools and other providers of education and training in Wales have been recognised by Estyn for their excellence at an awards evening. Staff at these organisations received a certificate and congratulations from Meilyr Rowlands, Chief Inspector and Kirsty Williams, Cabinet Secretary for Education at an event held on 9 March.

The awards recognised the 28 schools, colleges and other settings that were judged to be excellent for one or both of the overall judgements for current performance and prospects for improvement in the academic year 2015-2016.

Meilyr Rowlands says,

Celebrating the excellence achieved by hard work and commitment within Welsh education is important. Recognising and sharing this excellence can help to inspire improvement in the classroom and, in this spirit, Estyn has published a short brochure highlighting some of the successful features of the 28 schools and other education providers that achieved excellence during 2015-2016 inspections.

Award recipients:

Bridgend College
Construction Industry Training Board (CITB)
Llangewydd Junior School

Cwmfelinfach Primary School
Gilfach Fargoed Primary School

Ysgol Gymraeg Teilo Sant

Birchgrove Primary School
Kitchener Primary School
Severn Primary School

Aberporth Playgroup (WPPA)

Ysgol Bryn Elian

Coleg Cambria
Toy Box

Ysgol Gynradd Cae Top
Ysgol Morfa Nefyn

Merthyr Tydfil
Cyfarthfa Park Primary

Haberdashers Monmouth School For Girls

Neath Port Talbot
Vocational Skills Partnership

Maindee C.P. School
Ysgol Gymraeg Ifor Hael

Cefn Hengoed Community School
Pontarddulais Comprehensive School
Penllergaer Primary School
St Helen's Primary School

Brynteg Nursery School

Vale of Glamorgan
Albert C.P. School
Dinas Powys Primary School

Rossett House Nursery

Publication date

Friday, 10 March, 2017