Glossary - n

Definitions of all our inspection terms.

  • National Childminding Association (NCMA)

    A national charity and membership organisation that represents registered child minders in England and Wales. The association provides access to services, training, information and a quality assurance scheme.

  • National Comparators

    These are national averages derived from various data sources.

  • National Curriculum

    The National Curriculum is a framework used by all maintained schools to ensure that pupils follow a consistent programme for developing their knowledge, skills and understanding of curriculum subjects as they move through school.

  • National Day Nurseries Association (NDNA Cymru)

    A national charity and membership organisation for children’s nurseries. Its vision is a society where all children receive the best quality care and learning that enable them to reach their full potential. NDNA provides nursery support, information and advice, childcare training and a quality improvement scheme, e-Quality Counts.

  • National Professional Qualification for Headteachers (NPQH)

    A compulsory qualification for those who want to become headteachers.

  • National Standards for Headteachers

    The National Standards for Headteachers in Wales is a framework that sets out the particular knowledge and skills, personal qualities, values and professional characteristics that headteachers need in order to carry out their role.

  • National Support Project for ESOL

    A project funded by Basic Skills Cymru which aimed to strengthen the support available to adults and children from linguistic minority communities in response to the ESOL/EAL scoping study, EAL and ESOL in Wales, commissioned in October 2002.

  • National Training Federation (Wales)

    A federation that represents the majority of work-based learning providers in Wales. Members of this organisation provide programmes to prepare learners for work. Most learners take part in apprenticeship programmes based in the workplace.

  • National Vocational Qualification (NVQ)

    A National Vocational Qualification is a work-related qualification that reflects the skills and knowledge needed to do a job effectively. These qualifications are organised into five levels based on the knowledge and skills needed for a particular job.

  • National Youth Service Strategy for Wales

    The Welsh strategy for youth services. It is a continuation of the policies and concerns outlined in ‘Extending Entitlement’.

  • NEET

    Young people aged 16 and over who are not in education, employment or training

  • Non-accredited course

    A course that does not lead to a formal qualification

  • Non-core subjects

    Non-core subjects of the National Curriculum are Welsh (second language), design technology, information technology, history, geography, art, music and physical education.

  • Non-maintained settings

    Private provision such as playgroups and day nurseries for children under five.

  • NPD

    The National Pupil Database holds pupil data made available through the Pupil Level Annual School Census (PLASC), National Curriculum Assessment data and external examination data.