Glossary - k

Definitions of all our inspection terms.

  • Keeping in Touch (KIT)

    The Welsh Government has asked youth support services to be more co-ordinated in how they support young people who are not in education, employment or training. This is generally known as the ‘Keeping in Touch’ strategy, or KIT. This strategy is about helping organisations share information more effectively in order to help young people get into and remain in education, training or employment.

  • Key skills

    Key skills are the skills that are commonly needed for success in a range of activities in education, training, work and life in general.

  • Key Skills Professional Development Certificate

    This level 5 qualification develops critical awareness of the national key skills standards for teaching, learning and assessing key skills. The certificate has been modified for use in Wales and includes a specific unit in Key Skills and the Welsh Baccalaureate.

  • Key stages

    The National Curriculum divides the period of compulsory education into the following four key stages:
    •  key stage 1 for pupils aged five to seven;
    •  key stage 2 for pupils aged seven to 11;
    •  key stage 3 for pupils aged 11 to 14; and
    •  key stage 4 for pupils aged 14 to 16.
    From September 2011, key stage 1 was replaced by the Foundation Phase.
  • Key stage 4 capped points score

    This score comprises all qualifications approved for use in Wales and is calculated by using the best 8 results for each pupil.